This website uses cookies to provide you with the best possible web experience.

This website uses cookies to provide you with the best possible web experience.By clicking on "Accept" or continuing to browse the site, you accept the use of cookies on your web browser. For more information about our cookie policy and the different types of cookies, please read the cookie policy or click on "Learn more".

The Fund for Scientific Research - FNRS is a foundation of public utility.

The goal of the foundation is to encourage scientific research in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation by the granting of subsidies to researchers to enable them to devote their energies to scientific research, and to institutions in order to enable them to equip or run research units.

The F.R.S.–FNRS is administered by a Board of Directors which represents the foundation in all judicial and extrajudicial acts. The Board appoints a Secretary, responsible for the daily running of the Fund. The Board of Directors and the Committees or Councils of its Associated Funds form the management bodies of the F.R.S.-FNRS. Take a look at the complete F.R.S.-FNRS statutes



The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has the power to accompish all the acts which are necessary or useful in attaining the goals of the foundation.

The Board of Directors is made up of:

  • the Rector of the Catholic University of Louvain, the University of Liège, the Free University of Brussels, and of a second delegate of each of these universities. These Rectors are in turn responsible for the presidency and vice-presidency of the Board of Directors, each for one year, in an order that has been established by the Board.
  • the Rector of the University of Mons-Hainaut
  • two Rectors designated by common accord by the University Faculties of Notre-Dame de la Paix in Namur, the Polytechnic Faculty of Mons, the University Faculty of Agricultural Sciences of Gembloux, the Saint-Louis University Faculties in Brussels, the Catholic University Faculties of Mons
  • the Permanent Secretary of the Royal Academy of Sciences, Letters and Fine Arts of Belgium
  • the Permanent Secretary of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine
  • nine members coopted for a mandate of three years, possibly renewable, by the eleven former members, given that amongst these coopted members there is a French-speaking head of a scientific establishment and general French-speaking civil servants, appointed with the approval of the Minister to whom they are accountable
  • the Commander of the Royal Military School, in an advisory capacity.

The Bureau

The Bureau studies all the questions which have to be submitted to the Board of Directors, and makes proposals to it. It does the same for any other question to be examined by the Board.

The Bureau of the Board of Directors is made up of:

  • Rectors responsible for the presidency and vice-presidency of the Council
  • a Rector chosen by the Board of Directors from the other Rectors
  • the Permanent Secretary of the Royal Academy of Sciences, Letters and Fine Arts of Belgium
  • two members of the Board of Directors called by their colleagues to serve on the Bureau, for a mandate of two years.

The Secretary

The Board of Directors appoints, in addition to its members, a Secretary who can be awarded the title of Secretary General by the Board. The Secretary takes care of the daily runing of the Fund in accordance with the conditions laid down by the Board, to which it is accountable for the accomplishment of its task. It is also responsible for the secretariat during the sessions of the Board of Directors and the Bureau.

The Board of Directors can decide to put an end to the mission of the Secretary, at any moment.

Go to top